Sunday, April 20, 2008

Mark of the Lion

Soooooooo, I'll just start with this series . . . There are three books here in this volume: A Voice in the Wind, An Echo in the Darkness, and As Sure as the Dawn. I have a couple of things to say about this series.

1) Ever since I've finished these books, I've been in a book depression. Really. Nothing and I mean NOTHING has compared (especially to the first two) to these books. 2) My friends and I talked about Hadasseh and Atretes like you all talk about Jacob and Edward (who, I look forward to meeting when I can get my hands on your Twilight series . . .aren't you all envious that I get to read them for the FIRST time???) and 3) These books are full of history (so you're learning), faith (challenged while your being entertained) and action (so you can stay awake since the only time you have to read is all the kiddos are in bed) while reading them. You'll need to prepare yourself for some blood and gore during the first couple of chapters, but HANG IN THERE - you won't regret it. Well, maybe when you kids are screaming for dinner and your husband comes home and your heart is being so torn by Hadasseh that you feel nothing for the REAL people in your life, like your sweet family.

Here's the synopsis of the books:

#1 A Voice in the Wind: This first book in the classic best-selling Mark of the Lion series brings readers back to the first century and introduces them to a character they will never forget--Hadassah. The year is 70 AD. Hadassah has been captured at the fall of Jerusalem. Taken to Rome, she is bought to serve the Valerian family. The Valerians are having their own problems. Decimus, the father, is very traditional, yet his children, Marcus and Julia, embrace all the decadence Rome has to offer. Hadassah wants to share her faith in Jesus the Messiah with this family, but she cannot find the courage to do so. Meanwhile, Atretes has been captured in Germany and taken to Rome as a gladiator. As their lives intertwine, they will all face problems that will challenge who they are and what they believe.

#2 An Echo in the Darkness: Turning away from the opulence of Rome, Marcus is led by a whispering voice from the past into a journey that could set him free from the darkness of his soul.

#3 As Sure As the Dawn: Atretes. German warrior. Revered gladiator. He won his freedom through his fierceness . . . but his life is about to change forever. ** I don't think this one is as good as the first two in the series, but still good.


Gaerte Family said...

This is a great series!!! I agree about the hook on these books. I made an audible gasp at the end of the first book. Scott made the mistake of asking "what?" I second Amy's recommendation.
I want to thank Marilyn Pinkham for the fact that I have read so many of these books.

Kid Feed Mommy said...

This was a great series. I read it long ago and I still have fond memories of it!